Nadi Astrology

Astrology has been known to the Indians sine the early civilizations and has been in practice since then till today. Even though science and technology have developed so much, the belief in astrology still prevails.

History and Origins :

The Nadi Leaves were preserved by the Chola Dynasty in South India between the 10th and 13th Century A.D. The King of Tanjore, The Maharajah Serfoji II, a true patron of the arts and sciences, stored these palm leaves in his palace library. When required, he would commission scribes to copy the original and precious manuscripts onto freshly treated palm leaves, a process in which he also had them translated into ancient Tamil.

Nadi Astrology is not by human origin... meaning... it is not solely dependent on mathematical calculations using the movement of the planets (which create time). It is also channeled wisdom from perfected beings who could see into the past, present and future without barriers of time. It not only gives you understanding of why you are the way you are but also gives prescriptions on how to change the course of your life by effecting change in the energy of your past karmas. Truly of Divine Origin.

The basic concept of Nadi Astrology is "Nadi" . There are 150 Nadis in a sign or Rashi (Rasi), one sign is 30 degrees of zodiac. Twelve signs of zodiac grouped into three categories : Movable (Chara), Fixed (Sthira) and Dual (Dvisvabhava) signs Nomenclature of 150 Nadis is peculiar to each of these three types of signs. There are 1800 Nadis in 360 degrees. Numbers and names of Nadis are identical among all four Chara signs. Among all four Sthira signs, Numbers and names of Nadis are identical, but numbering is different from those in Chara and Dvisvabhava signs. Similarly, numbering of Nadis in all four Dvisvabhava signs are identical among themselves, but different from Chara or Sthira signs. For instance, the first Nadi in Chara signs such as Aries is Vasudha Nadi, but in Sthira sings the order is reversed and Vasudha is 150th Nadi. In Dvisvabhava signs such as Gemini, Vasudha is 76th Nadi, ie from the middle of 150. Thus, there are 450 distinctive names and numbers in full zodiac. Nadi texts use this concept of Nadi as the basic unit for prediction. That is why they are called "Nadi granthas".

Nadi Astrology is an ancient Indian method of Astrology to learn about one's past, present and the future. It is said that thousands of years ago, the great sages of Indian had the power to look into the past and future of the entire universe and recorded the life of each human being who either lived, were living or were to live.

Nadi talks about a person's past, present and future and is mostly concerned with material things like getting a job, construction of house, marriage, curing a disease, etc.

The names of the various available Nadi Granthas are given below :

  • 1. Bhrigu Nadi
  • 2. Shukra Nadi
  • 3. Dhruva Nadi
  • 4. Satya Nadi
  • 5. Surya Nadi
  • 6. Agastya Nadi
  • 7. Guru Nadi
  • 8. Nandi Nadi
  • 9. Budha Nadi
  • 10. Chandra Kala Nadi (Deva Keralam)
  • 11. Koumara Nadi
  • 12. Ishwara Nadi
  • 13. Sapta Rishi Nadi
  • 14. Kuja Nadi
  • 15. Kaka Bhujandar Nadi
  • 16. Kapila Nadi
  • 17. Bhargava Nadi
  • 18. Shani Nadi
  • 19. Nava Nadi
  • 20. Garga Nadi
  • 21. Narada Nadi
  • 22. Markandeya Nadi
  • 23. Koushika Nadi
  • 24. Saraswati Nadi

There are basically 2 types of Nadi Granthas :

1. The former kind deals with the actual horoscopes obtained by means of various possible permutations and combinations. "Bhrigu Samhita" is an example of this type.

2. The latter kind uses certain starting points - known by the term Nadi-Amsha (which are actually 150 unequal divisions of any sign) - and go on discussing the possible events and happenings at length by taking the commencing point as effective "Ascendant". Deva Keralam (Chandra Kala Nadi).There are many other Nadi Granthas of this category; like Dhruva Nadi, Bhrigu Nadi, Guru Nadi, Kuja Nadi, etc

Nadi is one of the eight Ashta that are used to calculate your compatibility with your partner. Total of 36 points are there out of which Nadi has maximum points i.e. 8. Now if there is any conflict between the nadi of two persons then they said to suffer from nadi dosha as per nadi astrology. If there exists nadi dosha in kundali then most of the astrologers will say direct no to that marriage because the next generation will be weaker or there will be chances of not having the kids at all. But according to some other astrologers the nadi dosha is not that important as to check whether the couple will have strong kids also depends upon other factors like position in the fifth house and so on.

There are basically three types of nadis which are:

  • Adi (start)
  • Madhya (middle)
  • Antya (end)

The type of nadi defines the "Prakriti" of an individual that can be Kaph, Vaat and Pita. In this kaph is for Adi nadi, Vaat is for Madhya and Pita is for Antya Nadi. Now the two persons having same type of nadi must not marry each other as their progeny or children will be weak. This is also true scientifically as well.

Nadi Dosha Remedies :

  • Chant Mahamrityunjaya mantra japa
  • Present swarna-nadi, grains, cloth and cow to the brahmin for nadi dosha remedies
  • Girl having a nadi dosha is also married to Vishnu before the actual marriage and is considered as a nadi dosha cancellation and remedies.

So before marriage it is important to check the nadi astrology for any nadi dosha, nadi dosha remedies and nadi dosha cancellation.